Forthcoming Events

30 Jan

This year has got off to a busy start. I’ve been asked to do several lectures in the space of just two weeks!

On Thursday 2nd February I will be taking part in The Wellcome Trust exhibition in London called Leap of Faith where I will be doing a brief presentation of my NDE research and then participating in a panel discussion. The link to the event is below:

http://www.wellcomecollection.org/whats-on/events/leap-of-faith.aspx

I am also really excited about another talk I’ve been asked to do in April. I have been invited to be a key speaker at the BTC Institute Bioethics Forum in Madison, Wisconsin, USA on April 26th – 27th. The title of the forum is Final Passages: Research on Near-Death and the Experience of Dying.

Other speakers at the event so far include Dr Raymond Moody, Dr Peter Fenwick, Professor Stanislav Grof, Professor Jeffrey Guss, Dr Marilyn Schlitz, Dr William Richards, Dr Pim Van Lommel and Dr Eric Weiss. The conference will be moderated by Steve Paulson of Public Radio International.

I’m really looking forward to participating in this conference and learning from all of the other papers that will be presented. I will post an update of the outcome of the conference.

The link to the conference is:

http://www.btci.org/bioethics/default.html

6 Responses to “Forthcoming Events”

  1. Supporter February 1, 2012 at 8:13 am #

    Interesting. Hope you have fun.

    btw I was wondering if you are still conducting your research on OBE or did you put that on standstill for the time being?

    • Dr Penny Sartori February 1, 2012 at 10:46 am #

      I did set up the AWARE (awareness during cardiac arrest) study at the hospital where I worked but my nursing commitments made it very difficult to gather any data as there was simply no time for me to leave my patients to go and interview any other patients. There has since been funding from the study for a research nurse who is dealing with all of the data and patient interviews. Dr Parnia will be collating the data and when there are some results he will publish them.

      • Supporter February 2, 2012 at 7:37 am #

        Do you when the aware project will be published? I’ve heard anything from 18 months to 5 years.

        thanks for answering

      • Dr Penny Sartori February 2, 2012 at 10:34 am #

        I’m not sure when anything will be published with regards to the AWARE study. It’s best to ask Dr Parnia about that.

  2. tim February 3, 2012 at 2:00 pm #

    Hi, Penny,
    That’s a very impressive list of speakers. But you’ve earned the right to stand up with them because of all your hard work and commitment. And anyway, you’re nicer to look at than any of them 🙂 I’m sure it will be a great conference. Best of luck.

    • Dr Penny Sartori February 4, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

      Hi Tim,
      Thank you for your comment – I’m very flattered as I’m not used to receiving such compliments! I’ll write a report of the forthcoming conference in Wisconsin and publish it as a post.

Leave a Reply

