New Part-Time Degree: Science, Spirituality and Health

14 Apr

I am really excited because I have just written a module for the part-time Humanities degree. I will be teaching the module at SwanseaUniversity, Dept. of Adult Continuing Education. The preparation course for the degree module will begin on 23rd April 2012 and the part-time degree module will begin in September 2012. I will also be teaching a ‘Pathways to Learning’ course in September 2012 and another in January 2013.

 

The modules will consider ways in which individuals can be empowered to take responsibility for their own health by embracing both the spiritual and physical aspects of life in conjunction with modern medicine.

 

Alongside my 21 years experience of working as a nurse along with my doctoral research into near-death experiences, learning about and researching these topics has had a very positive effect on my own life and I plan to pass this on to all who attend the course. I intend each session to be fun and inspiring.

 

 

I will be looking at and discussing topics such as:-

  •  What is the mind?
  •  Ways in which mind can influence health
  •   
  • Can mind be extended in space?
  •  
  • The biology of belief and psychoneuroimmunology
  •  
  • The correlation between acts of kindness and compassion on health
  •  
  • NDEs, end of life experiences
  •  
  • Altered states of consciousness
  •  
  • Afterlife beliefs in the World’s religions
  •  
  • Meditation and spiritual practice
  •  
  • Spiritually transformative experiences (STE)
  •  
  • Positive transformation following NDEs and STEs
  •  
  • How technology is leading to a greater understanding of consciousness

 

 

 These are just a few of the planned sessions that I hope will inspire everyone who attends to read and learn more about these fascinating topics.

 

 

 For further information check out the link below:

 

 http://www.swansea.ac.uk/media/WEB_BA%20Humanities%202012.pdf

 

 

 The course I will be teaching is on Page 30 of the booklet. If you’re interested in attending the course contact:-

 

 Paul Dicks 01792 295935 / 295499

 

 p.dicks@swansea.ac.uk

 

 

11 Responses to “New Part-Time Degree: Science, Spirituality and Health”

  1. John Schofield April 14, 2012 at 7:31 pm #

    Dear Dr.Sartori,
    I am filled with admiration for the prodigious amount of research, not to mention hard work in the ICU, that you have undertaken. I am especially proud of your association with Lampeter, with Morriston Hospital ( ‘just down the road’ from where I live) and the way your activities are developing. I am very much aware of the work of such luminaries as Dr. Peter Fenwick, Dr. Bruce Greyson, Dr. Sam Parnia and so many others; and it is so good to see moves toward greater recognition of spirituality and of the value of anecdotal material.

    Sincere good wishes ! May you go on to ever greater success

    • Dr Penny Sartori April 15, 2012 at 8:29 pm #

      Thank you so much for your lovely comment John. It is always very much appreciated to receive such supportive comments.

  2. Tony April 15, 2012 at 12:57 am #

    Really sounds fascinating!! Any chance you will be offering a class such as this in the states?

    • Dr Penny Sartori April 15, 2012 at 8:30 pm #

      Hi Tony,
      Oh, I’d love to offer this class in states. Maybe something will transpire in the future. If it does I’ll let you know.

  3. loblt April 15, 2012 at 11:02 pm #

    It is always great to see spirituality and health related and taken seriously. I am glad to learn of this course you are initiating and wish you all the best with it!

  4. A Sad Welshman April 25, 2012 at 8:27 am #

    Having attended the initial class on 23rd April at Swansea University I can asure you that I’m 100% inspired to learn more. I was so glad to hear yesterday, that next Mondays class will run as scheduled. Can’t wait. Have an excellent trip/seminar this week. Mark

    • Dr Penny Sartori April 30, 2012 at 11:53 am #

      Hi Mark, thank you so much for your comment. I didn’t get chance to reply sooner as I didn’t get home until yesterday evening and am mega jet lagged today.

      I too am inspired by the students following the first session last week. I learned so much last week at the amazing conferene and I have lots to share in the class this evening. I am looking forward to teaching the course as I know we will all learn a great deal from each other.

  5. Mark Evans April 25, 2012 at 8:53 am #

    Inspired is the right word. Having attended the initial class on 23rd April I feel as though a new pathway has opened for me. So happy to learn that next week’s class will run as scheduled. Have a great trip in the meantime.

Leave a Reply

