Huge Interest in NDEs Following Serialization of My Book The Wisdom Of Near-Death Experiences

27 Jan

I have had an overwhelming response since my book has been serialized in The Daily Mail on Saturday 25th January, Monday 27th January and another two articles planned for Tuesday and Wednesday.  There have been many comments on the Daily Mail website and it is very encouraging to see so many people speaking so openly about their experiences.

It’s really great to see this really important subject being taken so seriously.

I just wanted to write a quick post to say thank you to everyone who has sent comments to the blog and emailed me in the past few days to share their experiences with me.  I will reply to everyone but it may take some time as there are so many emails to read.

It may also take a while to reply to the comments on the blog as I have also been inundated with media requests but I will reply as soon as I can.

53 Responses to “Huge Interest in NDEs Following Serialization of My Book The Wisdom Of Near-Death Experiences”

  1. rudyink January 27, 2014 at 1:21 pm #

    Penny, What a fantastic launch for “The Wisdom of Near Death Experiences”! How many pent up secrets will “Wisdom” release?! The “Wisdom” about our greater selves is the important news, and how that might affect our human interactions on a day-to-day basis. Reconciling with my own NDE has made a huge difference in my own life, bringing a new sense of joy and hope even in the occasional dark days that we all have. I now look at everything, and everyone, with fresh eyes. Thanks so much for this important work, Penny! Pax, Rudy
    PS From my renewed perspective! http://wp.me/p4cmRf-3c

    • Dr Penny Sartori February 11, 2014 at 3:39 pm #

      Hi Rudy,
      Thank you so much. Yes, I think there is so much that NDEs can teach us about life. Speaking with so many people who have had such an experience really has made me consider ways in which I live my life from a much deeper perspective. NDEs have such an empowering message.

      • michel BESSY February 12, 2014 at 12:11 pm #

        I d like to know your position on the AWARE STUDY.What do you make of their constant putting off the results that were to be published january 2013,then november 2013.Now is mid february 2014 and there s nothing in the offing!….Besides,sam PARNIA said that only 1 OBE in 1000 NDEs was reported and of course we shouldn t expect hits on targets that can only be seen from a vantage point near the ceiling.Well all that is a bit disappointing and could lead researchers to re-appraise the NDE phenomenon

      • Dr Penny Sartori March 10, 2014 at 4:51 pm #

        Hi Michel, thank you for your comment. Sorry it has taken so long to reply, I’ve been inundated with emails recently and am finding it hard to keep up with the blog too.

        I think the AWARE study is a massive project and it is taking far longer to gather the data and collate the results than was first anticipated. I was initially involved in the AWARE study but I was unable to commit the same time and energy to the project that I had given to my own study so I had to withdraw. In the research I did, over the 5 year data collection there were 8 out of body type experiences and these were of varying qualities. In fact, only 2 were of the veridical quality where the symbol could have been viewed. It is very difficult to study NDEs / OBEs in the clinical setting as these experiences are so unpredictable but with perseverance a lot of interesting data can be gathered.

        It will be interesting to see the results of the AWARE study when it has completed.

  2. Art January 27, 2014 at 3:02 pm #

    Sounds like a brilliant book. Saw the Daily mail feature on Saturday. Will defo be buying it!

  3. Anona Blackwell January 27, 2014 at 3:13 pm #

    so very pleased your courage has been rewarded, well done…..

    Dr Anona Blackwell

  4. Sebastian January 27, 2014 at 3:46 pm #

    Hi Penny, it is a great service you do for human kind, researching NDE’s, along with Pim Van Lommel and many others. Since you used the word wisdom, I thought it to be helpful to direct your attention to another book, Fearless death, by Lama Ole Nydahl. It is Buddhist wisdom on a very very similar topic. I hope it gives some more historic and contemporary depth to your work : http://www.fearlessdeathbook.com/index.php

    All the best,
    Sebastian Kaye

    • Dr Penny Sartori February 11, 2014 at 3:42 pm #

      Hi Sebastian,

      Thank you for your comment and for the recommendation of the book – it looks very interesting and I will get a copy. I’m sure many followers of the blog will also be interested.

  5. Alison January 27, 2014 at 8:43 pm #

    I was v interested in your piece in the Mail. I wntd to leave my own experience in ‘comments’, but after reading a lot of negative reactions I decided not to. I would like to share it with you however (even though it is not so fantastic as to blow your mind). I have 4
    experiences to tell you. I am 50 years old, completely non religious and have only ever told one other person these details. My first NDE happened 40 years ago. I am bcoming more intrestd in this subcjt, but having not been able to find a suitable forum to discuss my experiences I find myself deciding ‘to leave well alone and keep it to myself’. This is a shame, because if it does have any relevance to something, I would quite like to know!!

    • Dr Penny Sartori February 11, 2014 at 3:48 pm #

      Hi Alison, thank you for posting this and for your emails. I’m just about getting around to replying to emails this week so I will reply in depth, thank you for your patience with me.

  6. Ana January 28, 2014 at 5:53 pm #

    I found that amazing! Never imagine it would have so many comments. Its really a good sign that people are more interested in this subject then I realised. I spent a lot of time just reading the replies. Good luck for your book!

    • Dr Penny Sartori February 11, 2014 at 4:18 pm #

      Hi Ana, thank you for your comment. I can’t believe the huge response to all of this, it has been very overwhelming for me. I think a lot more people are interested in NDEs and it is nice to see so many positive comments.

  7. chelsea1985 January 29, 2014 at 12:04 pm #

    Loving how many comments your Daily Mail articles are getting! I thought there was going to be an onslaught of negative comments, but have been pleasantly surprised by the amount of positivity & openness by the readers. I feel like there is a real shift happening regarding public perceptions of NDE’s. Congratulations & hoping for the continued success with your book! Can’t wait to read it 🙂

    • Dr Penny Sartori February 11, 2014 at 4:25 pm #

      Hi Chelsea, thank you for your comment. I have been really overwhelmed by the positive response to all of this. It is amazing that so many readers have openly shared their experience too. I think people are far more aware of NDEs now and it is so encouraging to see attitudes being changed in such a positive way.

  8. Belinda Hannah February 2, 2014 at 6:41 pm #

    Hi Penny,

    Congratulation on this fab book. I have a copy and have been thoroughly enjoying reading it – it’s fascinating. As you know I worked for many years with you in ITU and and have always been interested in your work, it is great now to read about it in some detail. I have been particularly interested in what you say about people feeling that they have a purpose and attempt to make the world a better place following a NDE. This is also something that I have felt to be important and have linked it to Jesus’ teachings ( ie love your neighbour and treat others as you would yourself) although I never felt it important to belong to any religious organisation. I have also taught my children this. I now wonder if this is linked to the dream I once described to you about being in a wood with light streaming through by the side of a lake during a time when I was searching for spiritual meaning in my late teens. The feeling of happiness and being connected made a huge impression on me and convinced me that there was some spiritual entity and an existence beyond life. Well done Penny.

    Wishing you ( and your family ) well

    Belinda

    • Dr Penny Sartori February 11, 2014 at 4:29 pm #

      HI Belinda, so lovely to hear from you after we worked together for so many years. I really miss working in ITU!

      Yes, I think NDEs have such an important and positive message. It’s a shame that there seems to be so much debate arguing what NDEs are or are not that we are missing the important message that we can all benefit from.

  9. Angie Elliott February 8, 2014 at 7:32 pm #

    Hi Penny

    Just read the book, also bought one for my daughter. Was thrilled to see what you have done, you have worked so hard and I for one am very grateful to you. Its so refreshing to come across a like-mind but one who is working incredibly hard to be heard! As an ex-nurse I feel that this book should be mandatory course reading for all healthcare professionals in training, especially nurses and doctors.

    I am already aware that consciousness is primary, and have had evidence including “impossible” physical occurrences and after death communications from my husband. I did have to smile when I saw the video clip of you sitting in front of your bookshelves full of books about “death” – it reminded me of my living room!

    IF ONLY everyone could be aware….

    I hope you will post dates on you website of any upcoming conferences, seminars etc that might be happening in your travels. I probably won’t be able to make Swansea or London

    With very best wishes

    Angie Elliott
    West Yorkshire.

    • Dr Penny Sartori February 11, 2014 at 4:09 pm #

      Hi Angie, thank you for your lovely comment and so sorry for my delayed reply (I’ve been hectic the past few weeks). I feel so honoured to have the support of so many nurses who have emailed me and left comments on the blog. I think as nurses and being confronted with so much death as part of our job it does give us an insight that many people seldom get exposed to. It would be so great if NDEs could be included in the education of all healthcare workers as it would greatly contribute to supporting patients through difficult times.

      There are a few talks planned but mainly around the Swansea area and one in Alternatives, St James’s Church, Piccadilly in London on March 3rd. I will be planning more talks and I’ll post the details on my website.

      Thank you once again

  10. john scovell February 11, 2014 at 4:00 pm #

    Hello Penny. I went to buy a copy of your book a day or so after it was published in Waterstones in Redhill and they had sold the copies they had. I have ordered one from them and they are getting some more in but seems to be taking a while. Would have thought they have anticipated the interest. I looking to reading it when it arrives

    • Dr Penny Sartori February 11, 2014 at 4:14 pm #

      Hi John, sorry that you had a wasted journey and that the book was sold out. I think the response to the book has taken many people (myself included) by surprise.

  11. john scovell February 11, 2014 at 4:02 pm #

    Hello penny, I saw you on lorraine and I noticed the TV doctor came out with the usual oxegen starvation theory

    • Dr Penny Sartori February 11, 2014 at 4:13 pm #

      Hi John, that was very nerve wracking for me – I’m surprised you couldn’t hear my heart pounding through the microphone! There wasn’t much time to discuss everything so I couldn’t respond to the comment. It was very nice to be there as Dr Hilary was very nice and was open minded and when we chatted after he said he’s going to get a copy of the book. It’s great to see doctors taking NDEs seriously now.

  12. tim February 12, 2014 at 10:47 pm #

    Hi, Penny,
    Didn’t you do well 🙂 you’re even more famous now. I’m ordering your book today and it’s great to see such a nice person succeed.

    • Dr Penny Sartori March 10, 2014 at 4:55 pm #

      Ha! Hi Tim, thank you so much for your lovely comment (not so sure about me being famous though!). It’s been a hectic few weeks for me, I haven’t stopped since the book was released and haven’t had time to respond to the blog. It has been amazing to see how many people have emailed me to tell me about their NDE – many people had never understood what had happened to them and lots had been afraid to talk about their experience. It seems that NDEs are even more common than I realized. It is so great that so many people now feel comfortable discussing their experiences.

  13. Elizabeth DeVries February 23, 2014 at 8:06 am #

    ACK! I’ve been waiting for this book since I first found your blog six or so months ago… So I just ordered the kindle edition since I saw the book was out finally… And in my haste, I didn’t realize it isn’t coming to kindle until June! Siiiiigh… Oh well. I’ve pre-ordered it and am going to continue patiently waiting for it until June. Congratulations, Penny!

    • Dr Penny Sartori March 10, 2014 at 4:56 pm #

      Hi Elizabeth, thank you so much for ordering the book. It should be out in kindle now.

      • Elizabeth DeVries March 29, 2014 at 5:17 am #

        Hi Penny,

        It finally got sent to my Kindle! Yay! I’m in the process of reading it now. 🙂

        I did have a question for you… I know they’re making Heaven is for Real into a movie and it’s coming out soon. How do you feel about it? It seems to me as though a movie like that will bring a lot of publicity to this field of research and will probably help those who have had NDEs become more comfortable with their experiences, but it’s a little concerning because I feel as though this particular story will be a little too religious and might actually steer people away from Near Death Experiences, associating them with religion. What’s your take on it? I feel like Anita Moorjani’s or Dr. Eben Alexander’s would have been better as movies.

      • Dr Penny Sartori March 30, 2014 at 11:47 am #

        Hi Elizabeth,

        Great, I hope you enjoy the book.

        Interesting that you should ask about the forthcoming movie Heaven is for Real – it will be released in the USA on 16th April. I read the book and I recently spoke to DeVon Franklin from Tristar/ Columbia / SONY movies and I’ve been lucky enough to view the movie before it’s release.

        I think NDEs are one thing that link people who have all different kinds of beliefs. NDEs can happen to religious people, people who have no religious beliefs, people who just consider themselves spiritual, people who are agnostic and people who are atheist. Despite the variation in beliefs the NDE tends to follow that similar pattern but is experienced in a unique way.

        Heaven is for Real is about the NDE of Colton Burpo who was only 4 years old when he came close to death in the hospital. His father is the pastor of the local church. To capture the true essence of an NDE for the big screen is a very difficult thing to do but I think the movie does this well and portrays NDEs in a very sensitive way. The main focus of the movie is Colton’s NDE and also the struggles that the family face in trying to understand what Colton is saying and then coming to terms with such an overwhelming experience.

        It is great to see NDEs brought to the attention of a wide audience and for NDEs to be taken so seriously. I hope the movie will inspire more people to become more familiar with NDEs and the complexities associated with them.

  14. Tony March 12, 2014 at 6:07 pm #

    Wonderful! Congratulations and thank you for all your contributions to the field. 🙂

  15. Tony March 28, 2014 at 11:01 pm #

    Hi Penny. Was wondering if you are aware of this: http://mobile.theverge.com/2014/3/26/5551120/upmc-presbyterian-hospital-will-conduct-first-human-suspended-animation-trials

    • Dr Penny Sartori March 30, 2014 at 11:27 am #

      Hi Tony, this is incredible. I just had a quick look at the link. This sort of trial could only be undertaken, as the link mentions, in extreme cases where there is no other option or treatment available to the person. I find it fascinating and also a sign of how far our medical technology has advanced. It will be very interesting to see what the survival rates are – if successful, it could be that in the future it may be used more widely.

  16. lizschuldt March 31, 2014 at 3:19 am #

    I am really excited to check out your book. I just recently read “Held By The Hand Of God: Why Am I Alive” by Joe Laws http://heldbythehandofgod.com/ and have to say that his NDE was really similar to the NDE experience that a friend of mine had. I have no doubt that NDEs are real and that we should pay attention to them. It gives me so much hope knowing that Heaven does really exist. Other people need this type of hope in their lives as well.

    • Dr Penny Sartori May 9, 2014 at 2:40 pm #

      Hi Liz, thank you for your comment. I agree that NDEs are very valid experiences and from the hospital research I undertook I realize that they certainly do happen and that so many people are very reluctant to talk publicly about their experience. It is nice to see that there seems to be many more people who are becoming interested in these really important experiences.

  17. André April 17, 2014 at 10:12 am #

    ANother new update from me 🙂
    As time passes by theories evolve with new scientific research results.

    In their latest article Hamerhoff and Penrose adressed several new data:

    – Anestetics influence on microtubules instead of membranes
    – Heat reducing the frequence requirements for a quantum wave collapse.
    – window-like gap junctions were replaced by “wireless communication” microtubule resonant oscillations.

    These research results and Changes to the ORCH-OR model elevate it to a new level in terms of quantum computing research and moleculare biology.

    http://ac.els-cdn.com/S1571064513001188/1-s2.0-S1571064513001188-main.pdf?_tid=c64ff18c-c60b-11e3-ad61-00000aacb35d&acdnat=1397724142_1dfc95cf3a00f754d4a25e108ec14376

    • Dr Penny Sartori May 9, 2014 at 2:49 pm #

      Hi Andre,

      Thank you so much for this it is really helpful and I will try to make time to check it out.

  18. André April 17, 2014 at 10:15 am #

    To make this link to the PDF- Article work i made a tiny url

    http://tinyurl.com/np4d7h9

  19. rudyink May 9, 2014 at 2:50 pm #

    Another argument for the validity of NDE — and the reality that lay behind them — is the experience at the Hospice bedside. Here are several remarkable accounts from Becky Hawkins. This is an experience that repeats over and over, in so many places. It’s an encounter with the depths of our true humanity. ~ Rudy

    • Dr Penny Sartori July 30, 2014 at 1:24 pm #

      HI Rudy,

      Thank you for this and for the link

      • rudyink July 30, 2014 at 1:28 pm #

        My pleasure! Becky is “real people.”

  20. Gwyn July 19, 2014 at 1:06 am #

    I bought and read your book. It is obviously well written and researched and an enjoyable read.I am on the fence when it comes to NDEs and OBEs. I have read a lot of books etc on the subject. There are many arguments for and against, such as why so few have them even taking into consideration ones that may go unreported. And also why people see different things such as some see spiritual figures other see deceased loved ones others see their pets who have passed when they are all from the same religious faith. Could it be the brain going through it’s shutdown stage or could it be real. We will all find out one day. There is a lot of literature out there on the subject, books ,websites one is victorzammit who generally has some NDE, OBE info.
    As for scientists they believe that their theory is correct and cannot possibly be any other. There are some Physicts who deviate from the pack Brian Greene and Michio Kaku to name a few who believe that there are possibly other dimensions out there. One book is”The Hidden Reality”. They believe that everything in the Universe is made up of vibrating strings ” String Theory” which would require 11Dimensions. Another book is The God Theory by Bernard Haisch and Parallel Worlds by Michio Kaku But before I close I must say that you have dedicated a tremendous amount of time researching and compiling this book and you have certainly opened a lot of eyes.
    By the way I was born and raised in Winchwen but have lived in Canada for 47 years but visit Morriston every couple of years to see my sister.
    Well done Penny.

    • Dr Penny Sartori July 30, 2014 at 1:01 pm #

      Hi Gwyn,

      Thank you for your kind comments. I find NDE and OBEs such a fascinating subject to study and my views have changed as I’ve learned more so I try to be as open minded as I can. It is very interesting to read about the various different views. Thanks for the mention of the books and other researchers – I’ve not heard of ‘Hidden Reality’ so I’ll look it up. I’ll also look up Brian Greene as I’m not aware of his work. Someone else recommended The God Theory by Bernard Haisch so I’ve bought a copy but I haven’t got around to reading it yet.

      How lovely to find out that we are both from Swansea and that you heard about my work in Canada. I was born in and did my research at Morriston Hospital – we may even bump into each other when you are next visiting your sister.

      • Gwyn July 31, 2014 at 12:51 am #

        That would be interesting maybe in 2015 keep you informed. In the meantime keep up the terrific work you are doing. Another favourite Physicist of men is Michio Kaku who has written many books.
        Thanks for replying

      • Dr Penny Sartori August 12, 2014 at 1:25 pm #

        Hi Gwyn,
        I think I have one of Michio Kaku’s books – I’ll have to go and check out my book shelves and have a read of it. Yes keep me informed about 2015.

      • Gwyn August 8, 2014 at 12:22 am #

        Hi Penny Brian Greene also has quite a lot of clips on YouTube

      • Dr Penny Sartori August 12, 2014 at 1:59 pm #

        Hi Gwyn,
        Thanks for this, I’ll check it out. I’m sure the other followers of the blog will be interested too.

    • rudyink August 12, 2014 at 3:24 pm #

      Gwyn, I love Brian Greene. Here’s a short clip on ‘extra dimensions.’ It’s fun to consider that our senses only pick up a fraction of the electromagnetic spectrum. In my blog “Today’s Koan” I have a post titled “Cosmic Radio.” That would be our awareness tuned to some extreme dimension of this spectrum. Another scientific concept to consider is Schrodinger’s ‘entanglement.’ Einstein called it spooky action at a distance, i.e., sub atomic particles interconnected across vast distances. That is ‘presence,’ which is also a primary descriptor of the experience of meditation — spiritual ‘presence.’ There is still lots of mystery left to explore! Pax, Rudy http://youtu.be/jwfaqppx4YE

Leave a comment